Body - Mind - Heart - Spirit

The 8 Limbs and 4 Types of Yoga: The Spiritual Side of Yoga

Despite its amazing growth in popularity, many serious practitioners of the ancient art of yoga see it as nothing more than a series of powerful physical exercises designed to give one a perfect body.


Much More than Indian Aerobics

First and foremost, yoga is a systematic process of spiritual unfolding. The path of yoga teaches us how to integrate and heal our personal existence, as well as harmonize our individual consciousness with God. Devotional meditation upon God is at the very heart of any good yoga practice. For this reason, yoga has often been called “meditation in motion”.


The Eight Limbs of Yoga

While the physical component of yoga is certainly of importance, it is only one of the eight traditional limbs of yoga practice, all of which have meditation on God as their purpose. These are the eight limbs of the complete yoga system as they are found in the famous yoga textbook known as the Yoga Sutras, written by the sage Patanjali in circa 200 B.C. Briefly, they are as follows:


1. Yama: These are five positive ethical guidelines (restraints, or abstinences) that include non-violence, fidelity to the Absolute, non-stealing, truthfulness and non-attachment.


2. Niyama: These are five positive behaviors, including cleanliness, contentment, self-discipline, self-study and devotion to God.


3. Asana: These are the actual physical exercises that people usually associate with yoga. These powerful poses are designed to give our bodies strength, flexibility and energy. They also contribute to the deep sense of relaxation that is necessary in order to lovingly meditate on the Absolute.


4. Pranayama: These are the energizing breathing exercises that produce vitality, overall health and inner calm.


5. Pratyahara: This is detachment from the ever-present fluctuations of life. Through this practice, we can transcend all the trials and sufferings that life often seems to throw our way and begin to see such challenges in a positive and healing light.


6. Dharana: This is the practice of power ful and focused concentration.


7. Dhyana: This is devotional meditation on God, designed to still the agitations of the mind and open the heart to God's healing love.


8. Samadhi: This is blissful absorption of one's individual consciousness in the essence of God. In this state, the yogi experiences the direct presence of God in his or her life at all times. The result of samadhi is peace, bliss and happiness without end.


Ashtanga Yoga

These eight limbs together constitute the complete system known as classical Ashtanga Yoga. When yoga is diligently practiced under the guidance of a well-trained spiritual teacher (guru), it can lead to liberation from all illusion and suffering.


The Four Types of Yoga

Overall, there are four major divisions of Yoga, that form one of the cornerstones of Sanatana Dharma. These divisions, however, are for the sake of holistic development of a person, are not mutually independent.


In Sanskrit, they are called Karma-Yoga, Bhakti-Yoga and Jnana-Yoga, and Raja-Yoga. And the person who seeks this kind of a union is called a 'Yogi':


1. Karma-Yoga: The worker is called the Karma-Yogi. This path is the way of works turning the will away from the motives of self-interest to the Truth and service of greater reality than ego.


2. Bhakti-Yoga: One who searches this union in love is a Bhakti-Yogi. This path is heart's way of devotion, love, and surrender.


3. Jnana-Yoga: One who seeks this Yoga through philosophy is called the Jnana-Yogi. This path is of the mind's discernment between the Reality and the appearance.


4. Raja-Yoga: One who seeks this union through mysticism or Meditation is called a Raja-Yogi.


The Real Meaning of Yoga

Swami Vivekananda has succinctly explained this as follows: "To the worker, it is union between men and the whole of humanity; to the mystic, between his lower and Higher Self; to the lover, union between himself and the God of love; and to the philosopher, it is union of all existence. This is what is meant by Yoga."


Yoga is the Ideal of Sanatana Dharma

An ideal human being, according to Sanatana Dharma, is one who has all the elements of philosophy, mysticism, emotion, and work present in him in equal proportions. To become harmoniously balanced in all these four directions is the ideal of Sanatana Dharma, and this is attained by what is known as "Yoga" or union.


Sanatana Dharma, as a phrase, is the Yoga's way of describing the Eternal Truth. Sometimes, Hinduism is referred as Sanatana Dharma, but sincere seekers understand that Truth has no religion as such, and it is as eternal and universal as Sanatana Dharma can get.


Views: 259


You need to be a member of HigherCons to add comments!

Join HigherCons

© 2020   Created by Bijay Raut.   Powered by

Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service